School hols comes school hols passes

How soon, the 4 weeks of school holidays passed in the blink of an eye.  I swore yesterday felt like a school holiday but really, it was officially the first day of Term 3.  I didn’t even realised we have completed Term 2, are we approaching July already?

I must say this holiday must be the most enjoyable for our kids (Me & Aelina’s).  They spent a large part of their time at the shop, playing with each other……. on their individual ipad!  This is something the mommies failed to understand, why do you want to play with your own ipad when you can play with each other, but I guess that’s what kids’ play is all about nowadays.

We did, however, managed to sneak in a short getaway during week 3 and we drove ourselves to Genting Highlands in Malaysia.  Seriously, the last time I visited GH was more than a decade ago.  During that time, all you have up there was a lake with paddle boats, a choo choo train that went around the lake as well as the roller coaster, known as Cyclone today.

Genting Highlands is totally transformed, in my opinion, nothing looks familiar and I quite felt excited about the huge theme park and shopping mall they have there. We reached there at 2pm and after checking into our hotel, we explored a bit, the kids earmarked the rides they wished to try out the next day.

The next morning, after a quick breakfast at the hotel cafeteria, we made our way towards the outdoor theme park.  The kids had a field day trying out as many rides as permitted by their heights.  The more exciting rides require a min height of 122cm which my son fell short.  However, they do have quite a number of rides suitable for smaller children.  Their favourite ride would have to be the bumper car.  If I’m not wrong, they had 6 rounds of it!  We continued with the indoor area after dinner, by then, we were all bashed up.

Mommy couldn’t resist the shopping and made a quick run after dinner and to her surprise, they were giving out additional 10% discounts for purchases made after 10pm! And oh, for your info, the shops closed at 1am during the period we were there.

We left Genting Highlands the next day and made our way to visit my relatives.  This was actually where the fun began.  I have a total of 16 nieces and nephews in KL, minus the teenagers, I still  have around 10 of them who can play with my kids.  The 2 days at KL was a total chill out for me, I did not have to worry about my girl wanting to use the toilet or shower, she had 2 che ches looking after her.  Though it was only 2 short days, I could see the bonds forming between them and their cousins.  Son was so upset when we had to leave, he was in sorrow all the way until we reached Tuas!

Hubby asked me where would we want to go in December, I told him, anywhere is refreshing for them, but the real fun is probably my cousin’s place in KL. So yes, we will be returning in Dec, this time, we’re going to camp at the plantation with a fish pond and self built chalets around it.  It will be triple fun if R can come along, said T…awww.

karen @ Joy Luck Club

About Joy Luck Club

It's a blog by 2 mommies about their daily runabout on running a business together, friendship, kids, and maintaining a place called Joy Luck Club which serve as a place for mommies to gather, make friends, exchange ideas and have ME time.
This entry was posted in Anything goes, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment