Mommy Master Chef Series

Ok, I admit, I’m a big sucker for cooking show. I can be glued to TLC, AFC,Star world just to drool and be inspired over Jamie Oliver, Master Chef Series, Nigella, Ramsey Kitchen’s kitchen creation and countless other cooking show. Their dishes look so polished and they made it seem so easy.

But in reality, sad to say I am an “edible” only cook which is regrettable as I love cooking so much! There are days when I feel the “jamie oliver/nigella’s” urge to cook something fancy and different just to be disappointed over the result. The steak is overcooked, the kitchen is in a mess over the half a day of cooking.

Anyway, today I only had about 1/2 hour to prepare lunch for me and my son. So, with that short time, I did the easiest dish, Garlic Fried Rice. This is the first time I cook such a simple Garlic Fried Rice as normally I cook more complicated version of fried rice that need more than 1/2 hour along with the accompanying condiments.

So, chop chop, stir fry and done….

The test came at lunch time when my most honest and no-nonsense judge ate it for his lunch.

His verdict : “Mama, it’s 400% nice” (gestured with 2 thumbs up and that toothless smile),
The end result : Clean sweep plate

So, I would say, it doesn’t matter that you can’t cook like Jamie Oliver/Nigella as long as you receive such a “high mark” from the judges that matters to you :-), and yes that made you feel like you are a Master Chef 🙂

Here is the recipe of 1/2 hour garlic fried rice :

Overnight cook rice (better as it will be dryer and cook better)
1 clove of Chop Garlic
Chop Spring Onion
Meat (either sausages/ham)
Eggs

Direction :

Fry Garlic until slightly brown
Add the meat and rice and fry slightly longer until brownish
Add some light soya sauce and fry some more
Dash of salt and pepper
Eggs and mix
Add Spring onion at the end

That’s all! and you have settled your lunch.

Now, let me think of other 1/2 hour dish….or if you have any to share?

Aelina @ JLC Kitchen

About Joy Luck Club

It's a blog by 2 mommies about their daily runabout on running a business together, friendship, kids, and maintaining a place called Joy Luck Club which serve as a place for mommies to gather, make friends, exchange ideas and have ME time.
This entry was posted in Anything goes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment